problem in surface mesh generation

• Alejandro
  • Topic Author
More
13 years 4 months ago #4904 by Alejandro
problem in surface mesh generation was created by Alejandro
Hi, I am new with Salome, and I have a problem.

I imported a archivo .stp from CATIA, and now I need do the mesh, but when I go to do the mesh there are any problem, the mesh computation failed is realised, there are problem in Surface mesh generation in some face.
I tried to repar these errors the 3D in Salome with the option repair in geometry, but the problem is the same.
Someone had similar problem or can give me a solution?

thanks, sorry for my english

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 years 4 months ago #4905 by CAVT
Replied by CAVT on topic Re:problem in surface mesh generation
That could be because the Step file has extra surfaces not connected to the solid, it's simply a problem of CATIA and other softwares like Rhino3D that behave strange when exporting to stp or IGES. Try to do the following:
In the Geometry module of Salome, select in the tree your imported file, then go to the menu NEW ENTITY --> Explode, and select "solid" (not "solid compound") in the subshape types. After you apply and close, you should see in the tree a new solid feature under your original piece.
Then in the Mesh module, when creating the mesh, select that new solid and forget about the old one. If you create face groups, do it also with the new solid.
The idea of using the new solid instead of the original is because it will be biunivocally defined by only the necessary number of surfaces, lines and points. I know this because I also had these isues more than once :lol: