Notice

The forum is in read only mode.

What do you do?

• Jake
  • Topic Author
More
15 years 3 months ago #2522 by Jake
What do you do? was created by Jake
As there's only a handful of us on this forum, I think it'd be nice if we knew each other a bit better. Not so much in the personal sense, but the professional sense.

What programs do you use, and what for? What do you do for a living?

I use Autodesk Inventor, gmsh, SALOME-MECA, Code_Saturne + SYRTHES (hopefully) to do CFD work, be it strictly flow or otherwise. I'm just a lowly intern.
More
15 years 3 months ago #2524 by Alessandro
Replied by Alessandro on topic Re:What do you do?
I'm a free lance mechanical designer, and I work in the field of industrial automation, mainly for design of automatic assembly solutions. It means that the machine designed by me are powered by pneumatic actuators (up to 40-50 bpm) or mechanical system of cams and leverages (up to 60-80 bpm).

I live in central Italy, and I use Solid Edge for my work.

I'm starting now with FEM, and I hope to make it a new service for my customers, using Salome and Code-Aster of course.

My website is www.stimarchetti.it, so you can see something (the site is very old, about 4-5 years without updates).

Regards, Alessandro.
More
15 years 3 months ago #2525 by Claus
Replied by Claus on topic Re:What do you do?
Mechanical engineering student from Denmark - going on 6th semester and I'm going to New Zealand for 6 months for my internship in a few days.

Using VariCAD, QCAD, Pro/Engineer, Code_Aster and Code_Saturne to teach myself FEA - so far I've used them in a couple of school projects but it's mostly to satisfy my own curiosity.

Using them because I think Linux needs to play a larger role in CAE and because they are free.

Code_Aster release : STA11.4 on OpenSUSE 12.3 64 bits - EDF/Intel version
  • Jake
  • Topic Author
More
15 years 3 months ago #2526 by Jake
Replied by Jake on topic Re:What do you do?

Claus wrote: