Trouble switching between modules in Salome-Meca

• Ryan Gehmlich
  • Topic Author
More
16 years 1 month ago #1793 by Ryan Gehmlich
I am new to Linux and FEA, and am looking for a solution to a thermal analysis I need to do. Salome Meca and Code-Aster seem perfect. I installed Innotek's Virtualbox in XP, with Ubuntu 7.10 and the latest version of Salome-Meca. Everything installed just fine with no problems and I can start Salome-Meca, but if I try to switch between modules (from Geometry to meshing for example), I get this flash of a black screen of death which displays this cryptic (to me) message:

*Starting anac(h)ronistic cron anacron
*Starting deferred execution scheduler atd
*Starting periodic command scheduler crond
*Checking battery state...
*Running local boot scripts (/etc/rc.local)

and then I am suddenly back at the ubuntu login screen.

Is this just telling me that linux crashed and is restarting?

Any ideas why? I can use all the modules, I just have to exit salome first.

Thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
16 years 1 month ago #1795 by Joël Cugnoni
Replied by Joël Cugnoni on topic Re:Trouble switching between modules in Salome-Meca
Hello,

this is due to a bug/compatibility problem between Salome and the free OpenGL library MESA v7.xx. Salome works fine with MESA v6.5 or Nvidia/ATI proprietary OpenGL routines, but not with the latest MESA libs used by most of the Xorg drivers.

To solve the issue in a Virtual Machine environment, you would need to use an older Linux distro => Why wouldn't you try to use CAELinux VMWare's edition? It should work fine out of the box!

Regards

Joel Cugnoni
www.caelinux.com

Joël Cugnoni - a.k.a admin
www.caelinux.com

• Ryan Gehmlich
  • Topic Author
More
16 years 1 month ago #1797 by Ryan Gehmlich
Replied by Ryan Gehmlich on topic Re:Trouble switching between modules in Salome-Meca