Problem with stresses definition

• Ferney
  • Topic Author
More
8 years 5 months ago #8410 by Ferney
Problem with stresses definition was created by Ferney
Hi everyone,

I'm new with code_aster and I'm trying to analyze a single problem consisting in 3 layers of soil (100x100x10 m), so the total height is 30 m. I'm using a simple gravity loading in order to estimate the initial geostatical stresses. As I assigned a RHO=2000 to all three layers, I'm expecting a maximum VERTICAL stress of 600 kPa.

I'm trying to check the results, but I haven't succeed in reading the rmed file in Paravis, as there are not any properties to be activated or to filter (if someone has an idea, I'd appreciate to know what it is). Anyway, I'm reading the rmed file in GMSH, not what I'd like, but at least it does read it! Nevertheless, I'm facing a problem because the value of stress (actually only one stress is displayed, and I have no idea what it is) shows a maximum value of 780 kPa, which doesn't agree with the expected value.

At first I though that it would mean a calculation error. Later, I thought that there was a problem of visualization in GMSH, because I was using quadratic elements (I couldn't fix it with "adapt visualization grid"). Therefore, I started using linear elements, but the problem remains. Additionally, as I said, I can make the file to be read by ParaVis, I can't compare it.

After all that now I think that actually what it's being displayed is some kind of equivalent stress, that takes all component of the stress tensor into account. Am I right? If so, how can I get the stress tensor to be separated into its six components?

Here is the code for recording results:

RESU=CALC_CHAMP(reuse=RESU,

RESULTAT=RESU,

CONTRAINTE=('SIGM_ELNO','SIGM_NOEU'),

CRITERES=('SIEQ_ELNO','SIEQ_NOEU',),);

IMPR_RESU(FORMAT='MED',

UNITE=80,

RESU=_F(RESULTAT=RESU,

NOM_CHAM=('SIGM_NOEU','SIEQ_NOEU','DEPL',),),);