CAELinux2010:"Ubiquity closed unexpectedly" during installation

• Winston Wu
  • Topic Author
More
13 years 5 months ago #4957 by Winston Wu
Hi!I'm a student in Beijing,and I have to thank you very much for the powerful tools provided in CAELinux!
But now there's a problem.I boot from the LiveDVD and try to install CAELinux 2010.The whole process seems to work fine until all files are copied to my harddisk.Then "Sorry,the program "ubiquity" closed unexpectedly",and the installation stopped.I have spent a whole afternoon on this.So annoying!
My laptop is a Lenovo Y450-TSI(T6600/4G/320G),and I use Brasero to burn the LiveDVD.
Thank you.Poor English ^ ^

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 years 5 months ago #4958 by Claus
I googled the problem a bit, and not much in the form of solutions turn up.
This thread seems to solve it for someone.
ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1070394

Hows Beijing this time of the year? Still covered in *cough* sand from the Gobi? ;)

Regards,

Claus

Code_Aster release : STA11.4 on OpenSUSE 12.3 64 bits - EDF/Intel version

• Winston Wu
  • Topic Author
More
13 years 5 months ago #4959 by Winston Wu
Hi!^ ^
Thank u very much!I have successfully installed CAELinux into my laptop.:cheer: But...it seems that I have to add many "cn." to /etc/apt/sources.list because I really CAN'T stand the slow speed when upgrading!:dry: And now I am trying to update Ubuntu to 10.10 and add Chinese support for her.

PS:Beijing is much better than she was 8ys ago.^ ^<br /><br />Post edited by: Winston Wu, at: 2010/11/15 19:06

More
12 years 6 months ago #5786 by Phillip Toone
Winston Wu?! Holy cow, the internet is a small place after all. I've read about your adventures with FSUW. But this is not the place to discuss that. :lol: