Hello! Could anyone offer any advice please?

• Jim McKenzie
  • Topic Author
More
7 years 7 months ago #8746 by Jim McKenzie
Hello! Could anyone offer any advice please? was created by Jim McKenzie
Hello,

I'm new to the forum and new to CFD.

I love the concept of open source, having built arduino projects for years (most recently a Rostock Delta 3D printer) its clear to see the power of free collective contribution.

Having only just come across CAE linux, its only just dawned on me how awesome that can be! :ohmy:
So Thank you to anyone involved in this project or any of the software within it, its truly awesome!
Hopefully one day I will be in a position to contribute.

I'm a post graduate student studying renewable energy and am about to to do my dissertation project. I've decided to investigate latent thermal heat storage used in conjunction with air source heat pumps. I would like to simulate the melting of paraffin wax in various different heat exchanger style geometries to ascertain which will have the best heat transfer characteristics.

I have begun working my way through the openFOAM user manual and tutorials and the CAELinux wiki. Could anyone give me any advice or a direction to start looking in please? Maybe I would be better off using Salome-Meca? Any advice or comments would be greatly appreciated.

Kind Regards,

Jim McKenzie

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
7 years 7 months ago #8747 by Claus
Hi.

Glad you found the site then :)

Your topic sound really interesting and I looked a bit into it years ago (using ice) although not at the level you'll be doing it.

I can only recommend OpenFOAM as a tool for this. Code_Saturne (these two are the most mature open source CFD codes) does not handle phase change as far as I know.

Have a closer look at OpenFOAM for this feature.

Just to name a few sources:
openfoam.org/release/2-3-0/multiphase/
github.com/OpenFOAM/OpenFOAM-2.3.x/blob/...ationMeltingSource.H