Error in 9.04 64 bit Ubuntu
- Phill Christiansen
- Topic Author
- Offline
- New Member
-
Less
More
- Posts: 10
- Thank you received: 0
15 years 11 months ago #2911
by Phill Christiansen
Error in 9.04 64 bit Ubuntu was created by Phill Christiansen
I've posted this over at the Code Aster forums too (
www.code-aster.org/forum2/viewtopic.php?id=12974
) but I'm having a heck of an issue with 64 bit libraries.
To summarize, I'm getting an error regarding libg2c.so with ELFCLASS64.
The specific error is as follows:
Code_Aster run
<INFO> Command line 1 :
<INFO> ./asteru Python/Execution/E_SUPERV.py -eficas_path ./Python -commandes fort.1 -rep none -num_job 7615 -mode interactif -ORBInitRef NameService=corbaname::Lorraine:2810 -rep_outils /home/phillip/Work/SALOME-MECA-2009.1-GPL/aster/outils -rep_mat /home/phillip/Work/SALOME-MECA-2009.1-GPL/aster/STA9.4/materiau -rep_dex /home/phillip/Work/SALOME-MECA-2009.1-GPL/aster/STA9.4/datg -suivi_batch -memjeveux 32 -tpmax 120
./asteru: error while loading shared libraries: libg2c.so.0: wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS64
EXECUTION_CODE_ASTER_EXIT_7615=127
<INFO> Code_Aster run ended, diagnostic : <F>_ERROR
Anyone encountered anything like this?<br /><br />Post edited by: Phill Christiansen, at: 2009/05/20 00:47
To summarize, I'm getting an error regarding libg2c.so with ELFCLASS64.
The specific error is as follows:
Code_Aster run
<INFO> Command line 1 :
<INFO> ./asteru Python/Execution/E_SUPERV.py -eficas_path ./Python -commandes fort.1 -rep none -num_job 7615 -mode interactif -ORBInitRef NameService=corbaname::Lorraine:2810 -rep_outils /home/phillip/Work/SALOME-MECA-2009.1-GPL/aster/outils -rep_mat /home/phillip/Work/SALOME-MECA-2009.1-GPL/aster/STA9.4/materiau -rep_dex /home/phillip/Work/SALOME-MECA-2009.1-GPL/aster/STA9.4/datg -suivi_batch -memjeveux 32 -tpmax 120
./asteru: error while loading shared libraries: libg2c.so.0: wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS64
EXECUTION_CODE_ASTER_EXIT_7615=127
<INFO> Code_Aster run ended, diagnostic : <F>_ERROR
Anyone encountered anything like this?<br /><br />Post edited by: Phill Christiansen, at: 2009/05/20 00:47
- Joël Cugnoni
-
- Offline
- Moderator
-
15 years 11 months ago #2913
by Joël Cugnoni
Joël Cugnoni - a.k.a admin
www.caelinux.com
Replied by Joël Cugnoni on topic Re:Error in 9.04 64 bit Ubuntu
Hi
From your error message, I guess that you are using the Aster solver that comes packaged with Salome-Meca 2009. These binaries are 32bits only, so they require 32bit shared libraries to run properly.
As you run it on a 64bit OS, there may be a possible conflict of library types: it seems that Aster is trying to use the 64bit version of the library instead of the 32bit one.
So you won't solve the problem by trying to install / re-install the system's 64 bit library.
Normally, the precompiled Aster version in Salome-Meca should use the 32bit libg2c.so library that comes with the package: /home/phillip/Work/SALOME-MECA-2009.1-GPL/SALOME/SALOME4/Prerequis/debianForSalome-v1_2_0/lib/libg2c.so.0
It is probably a problem with environment variables that are not setup properly by the startup scripts runSalomeMeca (in /home/phillip/Work/SALOME-MECA-2009.1-GPL) or profile.sh (in /home/phillip/Work/SALOME-MECA-2009.1-GPL/aster/STA9.4)
You should especially check that the LD_LIBRARY_PATH variable that is set for the solver (profile.sh) is pointing to the 32bit libraries of the Salome-Meca package : it should be pointing to /home/phillip/Work/SALOME-MECA-2009.1-GPL/SALOME/SALOME4/Prerequis/debianForSalome-v1_2_0/lib/
You should also try to use the command
"locate libg2c.so"
to help you find out where libraries are installed.
Good luck!
From your error message, I guess that you are using the Aster solver that comes packaged with Salome-Meca 2009. These binaries are 32bits only, so they require 32bit shared libraries to run properly.
As you run it on a 64bit OS, there may be a possible conflict of library types: it seems that Aster is trying to use the 64bit version of the library instead of the 32bit one.
So you won't solve the problem by trying to install / re-install the system's 64 bit library.
Normally, the precompiled Aster version in Salome-Meca should use the 32bit libg2c.so library that comes with the package: /home/phillip/Work/SALOME-MECA-2009.1-GPL/SALOME/SALOME4/Prerequis/debianForSalome-v1_2_0/lib/libg2c.so.0
It is probably a problem with environment variables that are not setup properly by the startup scripts runSalomeMeca (in /home/phillip/Work/SALOME-MECA-2009.1-GPL) or profile.sh (in /home/phillip/Work/SALOME-MECA-2009.1-GPL/aster/STA9.4)
You should especially check that the LD_LIBRARY_PATH variable that is set for the solver (profile.sh) is pointing to the 32bit libraries of the Salome-Meca package : it should be pointing to /home/phillip/Work/SALOME-MECA-2009.1-GPL/SALOME/SALOME4/Prerequis/debianForSalome-v1_2_0/lib/
You should also try to use the command
"locate libg2c.so"
to help you find out where libraries are installed.
Good luck!
Joël Cugnoni - a.k.a admin
www.caelinux.com
- Phill Christiansen
- Topic Author
- Offline
- New Member
-
Less
More
- Posts: 10
- Thank you received: 0
15 years 11 months ago #2914
by Phill Christiansen
Replied by Phill Christiansen on topic Re:Error in 9.04 64 bit Ubuntu
Wow! This is one of the most helpful posts I've had respond yet! I actually feel like I'm getting somewhere. Thaknks for the advice.
So, here's the contents of */aster/STA9.4:
[code:1]# profile for Code_Aster version 9.4
PATH=$PATH:$ASTER_ROOT/outils
export PATH
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/local01/assire/SALOME-MECA-2009.1-BUILD/Salome_4.1.4/SALOME4/Prerequis/OmniORB-4.1.0/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/local01/assire/SALOME-MECA-2009.1-BUILD/Salome_4.1.4/SALOME4/Prerequis/Scotch-4.0/bin:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/home/phillip/Work/SALOME-MECA-2009.1-GPL/aster/public/mumps-4.7.3/libseq:/home/phillip/Work/SALOME-MECA-2009.1-GPL/aster/public/mumps-4.7.3/PORD/lib:/home/phillip/Work/SALOME-MECA-2009.1-GPL/aster/public/mumps-4.7.3/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/local01/assire/SALOME-MECA-2009.1-BUILD/Salome_4.1.4/SALOME4/Prerequis/Med-2.3.5/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/local01/assire/SALOME-MECA-2009.1-BUILD/Salome_4.1.4/SALOME4/Prerequis/Hdf5-1.6.5/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
#LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/home/phillip/Work/SALOME-MECA-2009.1-GPL/aster/public/Python-2.4.4/lib/python2.4:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/home/phillip/Work/SALOME-MECA-2009.1-GPL/aster/public/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/lib/X11:/usr/lib:/lib:/usr/X11R6/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH
#?OPT_ENV?
# additionnal paths for Python modules
#PYTHONPATH=/home/phillip/Work/SALOME-MECA-2009.1-GPL/aster/public/Python-2.4.4/lib/python2.4/site-packages:$PYTHONPATH
PYTHONPATH=/home/phillip/Work/SALOME-MECA-2009.1-GPL/aster/public/Python-2.4.4/lib/python2.4/site-packages:$PYTHONPATH
export PYTHONPATH
PYTHONPATH=/home/phillip/Work/SALOME-MECA-2009.1-GPL/SALOME/SALOME4/Prerequis/OmniORB-4.1.0/lib/python2.4/site-packages:$PYTHONPATH
export PYTHONPATH[/code:1]
Which Library Path line so I edit? Do the "#" at the beginning of a line mean it's commented out (ie: inactive)? Or is it the other way around?<br /><br />Post edited by: Phill Christiansen, at: 2009/05/20 17:08
So, here's the contents of */aster/STA9.4:
[code:1]# profile for Code_Aster version 9.4
PATH=$PATH:$ASTER_ROOT/outils
export PATH
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/local01/assire/SALOME-MECA-2009.1-BUILD/Salome_4.1.4/SALOME4/Prerequis/OmniORB-4.1.0/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/local01/assire/SALOME-MECA-2009.1-BUILD/Salome_4.1.4/SALOME4/Prerequis/Scotch-4.0/bin:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/home/phillip/Work/SALOME-MECA-2009.1-GPL/aster/public/mumps-4.7.3/libseq:/home/phillip/Work/SALOME-MECA-2009.1-GPL/aster/public/mumps-4.7.3/PORD/lib:/home/phillip/Work/SALOME-MECA-2009.1-GPL/aster/public/mumps-4.7.3/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/local01/assire/SALOME-MECA-2009.1-BUILD/Salome_4.1.4/SALOME4/Prerequis/Med-2.3.5/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/local01/assire/SALOME-MECA-2009.1-BUILD/Salome_4.1.4/SALOME4/Prerequis/Hdf5-1.6.5/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
#LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/home/phillip/Work/SALOME-MECA-2009.1-GPL/aster/public/Python-2.4.4/lib/python2.4:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/home/phillip/Work/SALOME-MECA-2009.1-GPL/aster/public/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/lib/X11:/usr/lib:/lib:/usr/X11R6/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH
#?OPT_ENV?
# additionnal paths for Python modules
#PYTHONPATH=/home/phillip/Work/SALOME-MECA-2009.1-GPL/aster/public/Python-2.4.4/lib/python2.4/site-packages:$PYTHONPATH
PYTHONPATH=/home/phillip/Work/SALOME-MECA-2009.1-GPL/aster/public/Python-2.4.4/lib/python2.4/site-packages:$PYTHONPATH
export PYTHONPATH
PYTHONPATH=/home/phillip/Work/SALOME-MECA-2009.1-GPL/SALOME/SALOME4/Prerequis/OmniORB-4.1.0/lib/python2.4/site-packages:$PYTHONPATH
export PYTHONPATH[/code:1]
Which Library Path line so I edit? Do the "#" at the beginning of a line mean it's commented out (ie: inactive)? Or is it the other way around?<br /><br />Post edited by: Phill Christiansen, at: 2009/05/20 17:08
- Joël Cugnoni
-
- Offline
- Moderator
-
15 years 11 months ago #2915
by Joël Cugnoni
Joël Cugnoni - a.k.a admin
www.caelinux.com
Replied by Joël Cugnoni on topic Re:Error in 9.04 64 bit Ubuntu
Hi,
Ok, it seems clearer to me now:
actually, each line "LD_LIBRARY_PATH=..." adds new locations to search for libraries: the first occurence will be the one used by the system; so the order is important.
Now, I notice that the path to the correct libg2c.so.0 is not added to LD_LIBRARY_PATH: first problem identified.
Second problem, the last line :
[code:1]
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/lib/X11:/usr/lib:/lib:/usr/X11R6/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH[/code:1]
adds "/usr/lib" at the front of the LD_LIBRARY_PATH => this means that the software will first try to use the system's library (in /usr/lib... 64bit libraries in your 64bit OS!). Second problem identified.
Now if my analysis is correct, a possible solution would be to add the right path at the front of LD_LIBRARY_PATH.
Try to add this line just before "export LD_LIBRARY_PATH":
[code:1]
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/home/phillip/Work/SALOME-MECA-2009.1-GPL/SALOME/SALOME4/Prerequis/debianForSalome-v1_2_0/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
[/code:1]
I hope that it will solve your issue!!
Good luck
PS: You're right "#" means comment line !
Ok, it seems clearer to me now:
actually, each line "LD_LIBRARY_PATH=..." adds new locations to search for libraries: the first occurence will be the one used by the system; so the order is important.
Now, I notice that the path to the correct libg2c.so.0 is not added to LD_LIBRARY_PATH: first problem identified.
Second problem, the last line :
[code:1]
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/lib/X11:/usr/lib:/lib:/usr/X11R6/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH[/code:1]
adds "/usr/lib" at the front of the LD_LIBRARY_PATH => this means that the software will first try to use the system's library (in /usr/lib... 64bit libraries in your 64bit OS!). Second problem identified.
Now if my analysis is correct, a possible solution would be to add the right path at the front of LD_LIBRARY_PATH.
Try to add this line just before "export LD_LIBRARY_PATH":
[code:1]
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/home/phillip/Work/SALOME-MECA-2009.1-GPL/SALOME/SALOME4/Prerequis/debianForSalome-v1_2_0/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
[/code:1]
I hope that it will solve your issue!!
Good luck
PS: You're right "#" means comment line !
Joël Cugnoni - a.k.a admin
www.caelinux.com
- Phill Christiansen
- Topic Author
- Offline
- New Member
-
Less
More
- Posts: 10
- Thank you received: 0
15 years 11 months ago #2916
by Phill Christiansen
Replied by Phill Christiansen on topic Re:Error in 9.04 64 bit Ubuntu
WOO HOO!! WOO HOO!! WOO HOO!!
You're awesome! It worked!
Thanks, that was the ticket (to add that last line).
Thanks again.
...now that it works, I need to figure out how to use this program...
You're awesome! It worked!
Thanks, that was the ticket (to add that last line).
Thanks again.
...now that it works, I need to figure out how to use this program...

- johannes
- Offline
- New Member
-
Less
More
- Posts: 1
- Thank you received: 0
15 years 7 months ago #3443
by johannes
Replied by johannes on topic Re:Error in 9.04 64 bit Ubuntu
Thank you for your great help!
It worked for me also.
Johannes
It worked for me also.

Moderators: catux
Time to create page: 0.129 seconds