YAFEMS, new small FEM solver using Salome MED form

• Javier Marcelo Mora
  • Topic Author
More
9 years 3 months ago #7835 by Javier Marcelo Mora
YAFEMS, new small FEM solver using Salome MED form was created by Javier Marcelo Mora
Hi.

My name is Javier Marcelo; I'm a spanish civil engineer and I'd like to present YAFEMS (Yet Another Finite Element Method Solver).

YAFEMS is a small Fortran program that reads a MED mesh file produced by Salome with certain groups created into the mesh,
and with the help of an input text file (.yaf), performs a plane stress or plane strain analysis and creates results in plain text format and in MED format.

This way a complete analysis can be carried inside Salome, where a mesh file can be created, exported and read by YAFEMS with the help of a simple .yaf input file and post-processed within Salome using ParaView.

Unlike a lot of small solvers out there, I've tried to document the program with a user manual and several examples so the end user can actually use the program.

The webpage is:

sourceforge.net/projects/yafems/

Please feel free to ask me any questions.

Cheers and Merry Christmas to all!!.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 3 months ago #7846 by Claus
Well done and thank you for documenting the code well :)

Happy holidays as well!
/C

Code_Aster release : STA11.4 on OpenSUSE 12.3 64 bits - EDF/Intel version

• Javier Marcelo Mora
  • Topic Author
More
9 years 3 months ago #7848 by Javier Marcelo Mora
Replied by Javier Marcelo Mora on topic Re: YAFEMS, new small FEM solver using Salome MED form
Hi claws.
Thanks for testing the program.
I'm currently working in the 3D version. The code is finished and I'm going to begin with the testing phase and start killing bugs, so I hope v 0.2 will be out soon.
By the way, I love your tutorials :)
I'll publish the announcement when I finish v 0.2.
Cheers.

• Javier Marcelo Mora
  • Topic Author
More